Book Reviews

 

5.0 out of 5 stars
Good Morning World,  November 1, 2013
By Its Time to Read Mamaw "Patricia aka Mamaw" (Tx USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Good Morning, World! (Paperback)
Baby Thomas wants Grandpa to take him for a stroll outdoors. First he must wake up Grandpa from napping. So Grandma comes up with a plan. Are you curious as to how they got Grandpa to wake from his nap?

Grandpa was not to eager to go for a walk, he thought it was to hot and the flowers made him sneeze. Baby Thomas did not notice the heat of the Sun in fact he told the Sun, flowers, birds and every other living thing he past, "GOOD MORNING!" and they greeted him back with happy smiles and salutations. But they also noticed how grumpy Grandpa was being on their walk.

If you were to ask me I would say Grandpa didn't get a long enough nap.

This darling story of Baby Thomas and Grandpa was like I was taking a stroll along with them. The author
must have pulled some of this story from a family experience. With her very creative imagination she must have been very tuned into actions and reactions of Baby Thomas. Then there was Grandpa who was very vocal and animated so she undoubtedly knew exactly what to write about Grandpa. Too funny!

This book is a must read!

I highly recommend this book.

Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book from the author for review. I was in no way compensated for this review. This review is my honest opinion.

5.0 out of 5 stars
Teaching your children to be positive,  October 27, 2013
By P J LaRue - See all my reviews
This review is from: Good Morning, World! (Paperback)
Note: I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Good Morning World is a wonderful children's picture book. When Grandpa takes Baby Thomas for a stroller ride, Baby Thomas is lucky to enjoy nature, animals and everyone he meets. But Grandpa sees the world differently, so he isn't a happy person. Good Morning World has creative illustrations that tell the story in vivid color. While the book teaches children to be open to meeting new people, animals and even lizards, it also teaches that friendship is right next to you, if you accept others. Finally, the book also teaches children to have a positive attitude.

I highly recommend this lovely book for young children.

4.0 out of 5 stars
One of my favorite Mrs. D Books,  October 24, 2013
By hlk - See all my reviews
This review is from: Good Morning, World! (Paperback)
Vibrant illustrations jump out of the book. You can almost feel the temp, wind and sun. A reminder to us all to wake up and smell the roses and appreciate the wonderful world around us

5.0 out of 5 stars
Thank you Mrs. D for another 5 star children's book.,  October 14, 2013
By Kirstin L. Pulioff - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good Morning, World! (Paperback)
This was a charming book. Following the differing perspectives of the Grandpa and the child, this book is a wonderful reminder about the importance of a positive attitude. I LOVED the joyful wonder in the child's perspective, and cringed as I recognized some of the grandfather's.

What I love about all of Mrs. D's books is that they share a message. They teach the adults as much as the kids. This message in particular touched me. It is a reminder about seeing from the eyes of a child. Exploring the world with an open mind, an open heart, and enthusiasm. Life is full of blessings, and sometimes we forget to notice them.

5.0 out of 5 stars
Kitty Muse Book Reviews,  October 14, 2013
By K. Ree "Kitty Muse Book Reviews" (Oregon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good Morning, World! (Paperback)
All of nature outside of Baby Thomas’ window is singing the praises of the day, and Baby Thomas wants to join in the chorus. But Grandpa is tired, and unhappy that he is the one who has to push the stroller to the park.

Baby Thomas pays no attention to Grandpa’s grumblings, as he greets all of the wonders around him. The sky, the sun, the clouds and the trees, animals, insects, and happy people all return his smiles. It is a day of wonder for the little boy.

Not so for Grandpa, who finds the trip almost unendurable. The sun’s too hot, the wind’s too… windy, and the animals and insects are pests. Too bad for him, because when they finally arrive home, he still has only the grumpy disposition he left the house with earlier.

However, Baby Thomas has a hatful of happy memories.

How soon we forget the simple pleasures of everyday life. This book points up the joy a little child can find in what we adults would consider the mundane. In our day-to-day hustle and bustle, we take for granted the things that are around us, instead of focusing in on the little things that make life so beautiful.

This is not only a terrific book to read to a toddler, with its beautifully-drawn pictures, but it is a gentle reminder to adults: to step away from our own little universes once in awhile, and see the world through the eyes of a child.

Every one of Mrs. D.’s books have been a joy to read. Bravo once again, and keep writing!

5.0 out of 5 stars
I hope everyone who reads this story will take a healthy approach toward their children and how they spend time together.,  October 10, 2013
By Olga Guseva (Russia, Moscow) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Good Morning, World! (Paperback)
Smile and the world will smile back! How simple it is! I must admit, I am the biggest fan of Mrs. D's stories. I love them and have purchased all of her published books, but this new release was a huge revelation. Good Morning, World! is one of those beloved books that children, parents, and grandparents must read together. In her book, Mrs. D. shows us two generations and their view on life from different perspectives. She introduces us to the wonders of nature in the most beautiful way, through the eyes of a child. This book, like a magnet, drew me into the world of Baby Thomas, who is in love with the beautiful world around him, and his grandpa, who once saw the world the same way as his grandson, but somehow forgot about the beauty surrounding him.
Through Baby Thomas and his grandpa, Mrs. D. explains that grown-ups, no matter how old they are, should look around more often and take an optimistic approach toward our connection with nature. Our mood will lighten dramatically if we connect to nature the way children do. We should be more optimistic and get pleasure from simple things, such as the world around us. This simple story made me rethink the way I spend time with my children and my attitude toward life. A great lesson for every parent! I hope everyone who reads this story will take a healthy approach toward their children and how they spend time together. We often forget about the natural healer, nature, and do not enjoy what God has to offer.
This beautifully illustrated book brought back many memories about my grandfather and our walks in the park. He was not always happy, but I was. I laughed when he tried to feed a squirrel and it bit his finger, when he jumped through the puddles, grumbling about the rain and wet shoes. I loved every minute I spent with him, no matter what mood he was in. I did not expect that such a small children's book could bring out so much warm emotion and memories, and touch me so deeply. It is difficult to be happy every day, but this book shows us to look for the simple things in life, just as children do. Reading this book, I felt much better. Happiness is all around us; we just must open our eyes to see it.
As always, Mrs. D. sends positive messages not only for children, but for grown-ups as well. I am profoundly grateful for another wonderful book, which any child, parent, and grandparent could relate to. I read this book many times, and my only wish was that this book would never end. Mrs. D., you created a wonderful book. I hope parents will not miss the great opportunity to read this inspiring story with their children. The artwork in this book is absolutely amazing! Looking at these colorful illustrations, I felt as if I was reliving my childhood again.

5.0 out of 5 stars
Through the eyes of a baby!,  September 27, 2013
By Susie Caron - See all my reviews
This review is from: Good Morning, World! (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed this delightful experience of a baby/toddler out for a stroll with his grandpa. Anyone who has pushed a baby in a stroller can relate to this tale. Read it aloud and enjoy the experience together.

5.0 out of 5 stars
GOOD MORNING, WORLD,  September 27, 2013
By Murielle Cyr - See all my reviews
This review is from: Good Morning, World! (Paperback)
Good Morning, World is Mrs. D's third picture book and more is on the way. It is a story depicting two contrasting perspectives: the old and the young, the joyful and the fearful, new beginnings and end of journey. It is also presents a sad commentary on man's disconnection with nature. A couch-potato grandfather is coaxed by his wife to take their grandson for a stroll in the park. The young child's joy at seeing all the different birds, butterflies and flowers is cut short by the grandfather's fears of imagined dangers. How much more energetic grandfather would be if he also connected to the beauty and joys of nature?
The colourful images are precious and reflect with detail the young child's enthusiasm as well as grandfather's unease. A terrific choice for the parent seeking a fun book to read to their young child.

5.0 out of 5 stars
HOW DO YOU SEE IT?,  September 11, 2013
By  Barbara Mojica - See all my reviews
This review is from: Good Morning, World! (Paperback)

This new book by Mrs. D is a study in contrasts. The young generation versus the old, the optimist versus the pessimist and realism versus make believe. This story is dedicated to Baby Thomas and his grandfather Patrick, who are the models for the two main characters. At the end of this story, Mrs. D provides summaries and links to both her current books and those projects that are in the planning stage so that we readers know what is in store for us.

The setting is a comfortable family living room. Baby Thomas is playing on the floor while Grandma is watching from her chair as Grandpa is snoozing on the couch. When the baby gestures toward his stroller, Grandma places him in in and urges Grandpa to get up and go out for a walk to the park on this beautiful day. Grandpa reluctantly begins pushing the stroller, but the look on his face tells you he is none too happy. On the other hand, Thomas is glowing with smiles and happiness as he engages with the world around him.

The author personifies all the forces of nature. The sun, the clouds, the trees and the wind have exquisite faces exemplifying their emotions. In addition, the author sprinkles her sentences with alliteration examples like "silly stroller" and sounds like "croak, craake. As they journey on, Grandpa complains with analogies comparing the sun to a boiling pot and the sun baking us up like cupcakes.The park is too noisy, the path is too crowded, the skies too buggy, his shoes got too dirty and so on. Baby Thomas sees nothing but the positives as he greets the frogs, the birds, the wind, the lady bugs and the passers-by. Thomas enthusiastically greets the little girl and her mom that they meet on the path. The little girl feels as Thomas does; her mother is too busy talking on the phone all the time. When Thomas and his grandfather arrive home, Grandma is surprised to see that Thomas is still not sleepy, while Grandpa heads straight to the couch to resume his nap.

The illustrations by Eladziem are masterfully done and provide a study in contrast as well. The personifications look like human faces expressing emotions. Grandpa's facial expressions are priceless. You want to hug and squeeze Thomas because he is so cheerful. The pot belly on Grandpa and the I love my Grandpa shirt worn by Thomas are great personal touches. Throughout the story, Eladziem alternates between pages drawn realistically in vivid, bold color, and soft nature scenes done in muted pastel colors.

It is wonderful to see the beauty of the world expressed through the eyes of a young child. How often we adults forget! Take a look at this exquisite book with your young child or grandchild and give yourself the opportunity to remember!

5.0 out of 5 stars 
It passed my expections, very entertaining book.  January 4, 2012
By  Gregory J. Makar -  Amazon Verified Purchase

5.0 out of 5 stars
Excellent book for teaching kids morals August 13, 2012
By Gregory J. Makar
Format:Paperback

THE TREES HAVE HEARTS- Beautifully Illustrated book for children of all ages, which teaches children very valuable lessons about friendship, love and acceptance. I have followed MRSDBOOKS.NET for some time and previously bought CARLO THE MOUSE ON VACATION. I was expecting another CARLO adventure but was quite delighted when I read THE TREES HAVE HEARTS. Great story, written from the heart of a mother trying to help other children on how to cope with their problems while growing up. I would have preferred to purchase a hard bound book but AMAZON does not carry it. Therefore I bought a paperback one and then went to the publisher XLIBRIS to buy a hard bound book. I RECOMMEND THIS BOOK FOR ALL MOTHERS AND GRADE SCHOOL TEACHERS.

5.0 out of 5 stars
Trees Have Hearts July 13, 2012
By PDS910
Format:Paperback

The Trees Have Hearts is a beautiful story about a young girl moving to a new country and her imagination. The descriptive language and beautiful pictures capture your attention and make this story easy to relate to for readers of all ages. Definitely a great addition to my library!

5.0 out of 5 stars
An amazing book for children! June 29, 2012
By VK33
Format:Kindle Edition

The Trees Have Hearts is a wonderful book to share with children. Not only does it offer a valuable moral, but it is also full of fun and fantasy, which all children will love. I feel that everyone can relate to the story line and there is a positive take home message at the end. I highly recommend this to anyone's reading collection!

5.0 out of 5 stars
Great Children's Book June 29, 2012
By V226
Format:Kindle Edition

This book is a great way to teach children morals and how to handle life's challenges. The book has vibrant illustrations that capture readers of any age. The story of a young girl moving to a new country and of friendship is very easy to relate to. It is written with a touch of humor, although the moral is very strong. It is a book that everyone can enjoy, from parents reading to their children to children flipping through colorful illustration. It is a story written with imagination. If you are looking to teach your children life's lessons of friendship in a new way this is a great book for you.

Funny Story June 29, 2012
By V226
Format:Paperback

This book is a creative way of expressing that we should be happy with who we are. It is written with humor and a lot of fun. Carlo's adventures take children to different cities and countries. His love for food takes him to interesting places. I gifted this book to a child who has similar imagination and appreciation for adventure and we read the book together and he loved it. It is a great book for all ages, it is cute, funny, and the colorful illustrations are great for keeping children's attention. The book is also very local to New Jersey, so anyone living near by will get a taste of home but the books goes far and beyond a historical town in New Jersey. We are looking forward to new adventures and see where Carlo will end up next, hope it is in Italy eating yummy cheese.

Amazing book for children! A must have! July 17, 2012
By VK33
Format:Kindle Edition

Carlo the Mouse on Vacation is full of adventure that any child and parent will love. The illustrations are bright and vivid, and the storyline is easy to follow and always exciting. This is a great gift for any occasion and should be part of any child's reading collection!

5.0 out of 5 stars 
Lovely picture book! January 14, 2013
By Maranda Russell

This is a delightful book. First of all, the illustrations are absolutely stunning. They definitely help bring this fantasy story to life. The storyline itself is sweet and touching. It manages to teach wonderful lessons about true friendship and adapting to change without being preachy or overdone. I'm not sure if the author meant it to be, but I also felt like this was a story about growing up and maturing over time. I felt like the main character really grew and changed throughout the story. She went from being sad, lonely and insecure, to finding self-confidence and contentment. The "tree people" reminded me very much of fairies, although I don't think the word fairy was actually used in the book. Overall, this is a lovely book that I would definitely recommend for anyone who enjoys reading uplifting fantasy stories.

P.S. I really enjoyed the preface too. Although I will admit that I often skip prefaces or introductions when reading a book, I would highly recommend you read this one and give the words some thought. Our children truly do grow up too quickly and we should take advantage of every opportunity we are given to share time with them.

5.0 out of 5 stars
A Must Read For Any Child and/or Adult
By Gina DiCaprio
This review is from: The Trees Have Hearts (Paperback)

I highly recommend reading this incredibly detailed and loving book along with your child. If not, then I would definitely have your children read it on their own because it captivates and pulls you in from beginning to end. With the descriptive language and detail to its surroundings, this story is the type of book that enables you to close your eyes and become part of the pages. All good stories have the power to take us to another world, and bring us back to see our own in a new way. This one is by far, one of those beloved books.


The sweet thing about this story is that you can read it with children between the ages of four and seven, and after that, they can decide to read on their own or continue to enjoy it with you. In our household, we look forward to our bedtime stories and downtime. I look forward to having this book next to the children's bed for many years to come as we imagine away with the little girl and her new friends.


We walked away with so many rewards from this story. It teaches you that you can learn many different things and appreciate the uniqueness and differences in all qualities of friends. Every person in this world is capable of contributing a certain gift toward one another. In "The Trees Have Hearts," the each tree possessed a unique quality and was able to teach the little girl something different as a result. Most of all, they taught her that you can make a friend no matter what the circumstances are. That is the beauty in all living things; whether they are human or a part of nature.

5.0 out of 5 stars
Beautiful story
By ksen
This review is from: The Trees Have Hearts (Paperback)

The Trees Have Hearts is beautifully written and beautifully illustrated. To me, Mrs. D's story is a reminder that friends come in all shapes and sizes, which is a wonderful lesson for children to learn. It also teaches children that there is always a place for them to fit in this world. The love that the characters have for each other is so uplifting to read, especially in a day when we're more apt to see some terrible in ways in which people can treat each other than the good that people do. I would recommend this for children and adults alike.


I also would like to mention that English is not Mrs. D's first language, but yet the book was written and edited better than many books I have read by people who have spoken English for their entire lives. I look forward to reading more of Mrs. D's books.

5.0 out of 5 stars
A charming heartfelt story!
By Kirstin L. Pulioff (REAL NAME)
This review is from: The Trees Have Hearts (Paperback)

What a charming, heartfelt story. "The Trees have Hearts," by Mrs. D, is a wonderful chapter book for any young reader, or a parent reading to a child, or anyone going through difficulties moving or making friends.

The story is well thought out and developed, from the relatable character, a young girl who has just moved and is suffering the difficulties of making new friends and adjusting to the move, to the depth of the story. We do not only see the difficulties that the girl has, but we travel through the year with her to see how she overcomes these fears and how she grows. We learn so much through the connection and friendship she makes with her garden trees, three wonderful trees that have their own stories and difficulties to grow through. The trees teach us lessons about life and let us see that growth processes and changes affect everyone, even trees.

This is a wonderful story that connects to the reader in an easy manner. The story flows smoothly, and the illustrations really capture your attention.

My favorite part comes at the end when Mrs D so eloquently writes, "It takes time for roots to grow, and for you to makes friends, so be patient."

Wonderful book! Highly recommended!!!

5.0 out of 5 stars
A Heartwarming Must Read
By Barbara Mojica
This review is from: The Trees Have Hearts (Paperback)

This book is beautifully written and illustrated. The delicate colors and fine lines will prove satisfying to the eye just as the lyrical language is soothing to the ear. I urge the reader to pay particular attention to the Preface in which the author reminds us that we should look at things through the eyes of a child and enjoy this period of wonder and imagination because it is a fleeting moment in time which soon disappears.

As the story begins a sad little girl is gazing out her window at the spring garden. She sees the trees just beginning to bloom. The little girl does not go out to play because she has just moved from another country and does not know the language. She feels lost and alone. One day she goes out into the garden and the trees speak to her.

We all know that things never stay the same. One day the little girl arrives home and her mother has a surprise for her. Will the bond between little girl and her tree friends be able to survive this new crisis?

Read this charming story suitable for children of ages to find out.

5.0 out of 5 stars
A thought provoking moral tale of the struggles of childhood that each child faces. Enchanting and sincere
March 31, 2013
By Roseanne Maria D'Agostino
This review is from: The Trees Have Hearts (Paperback)

Exquisite detailed illustrations enhance this thought provoking tale of a small girls journey to develop friendships in a new country is enchanting without being cloy or dishonest. This gentle tale of the how power of a child's imagination can sustain her while she builds her language and makes friends in her new world is relevant and realistic in today's diverse multi-cultural society.

This tale of a mothers love and child's innocence help remind each parent that childhood is fleeting.

Through, the simple act of sharing our child's dreams and fantasies a relationship will soon be lost;but the memories built will create the trust to allow the parent child relationship to develop into one of mutual respect.

Build a memory and relationship with your child today.

5.0 out of 5 stars
A Must Read If You Are Moving
By P J LaRue
This review is from: The Trees Have Hearts (Paperback)

EAny adult or child that has felt the pain of leaving friends behind when moving will relate to The Trees Have Hearts. The little girl moved from another country and doesn't speak English. Her sadness lifted when she played in the garden and made friends with the trees and the Old Wind. Interestingly, there are three different trees, Sassy the pink magnolia tree, Chance the purple plum tree and Shadow the weeping cherry tree. Even the variety of trees in the story carries the same message of acceptance of differences in people. Spending time with nature soothed the lonely girl as she watched the blooms open and the fruit ripen. It also gave her time to learn her new language and begin to make other friends.

In addition to the primary message of accepting people, there was another message neatly slipped into the story. The trees taught the little girl to "bite, kick and scream if bad people tried to take her away." This is a perfect way for the author to pass on safety tips in a non-threatening way to small children.

I'd recommend this book to anyone with children, whether they are planning a move, or not. Its message of love and friendship might help children befriend a new child in school or in their neighborhood. It might even teach adults a thing or two about new co-workers, as well!

5.0 out of 5 stars
Another great book from Mrs. D
August 28, 2013
By ksen
This review is from: The City Kittens and the Old House Cat (Kindle Edition)

I have had the pleasure of reading Mrs. D's other works, and I have never been disappointed. Her stories are well written, and the illustrations are beautiful.

The City Kittens and the Old House Cat is a story about family...human and feline. As the author of a book about my dogs, I could totally appreciate and understand a story being told from the pet's point of view. I also love the multiple stories in this book--the way the cat Nyda describes holiday traditions with her family (I felt like I was reading about my family), how she needs to accept two new kittens in her life, and the kindness that humans can show animals. The story is full of heart and compassion--in my opinion, these are things that can and should be discussed and reinforced with children anytime we can.

I look forward to a long career from Mrs. D and being able to share her stories with many children.

5.0 out of 5 stars
This is an amazing story about kindness
August 8, 2013
By Olga Guseva (Russia, Moscow)
Amazon Verified Purchase
This review is from: The City Kittens and the Old House Cat (Hardcover)

Dear Mrs. D !!!

All your books are marvelous and unique. Carlo the Mouse on vacation is a funny, wonderful adventures of the little mouse. The Trees Have Hearts is a touching, beautiful story of friendship, loyalty and mutual support. What about The City Kittens and the Old House Cat? This story will not leave indifferent any child or adult, and will give a lot of positive emotions. Christmas atmosphere gives a feeling of a holiday, and the holiday is always a joy for kids and parents. Smart tricky Nyda the cat puts a smile on children's faces, at the same time, the appearance of two funny naughty kittens make us worry about her. Reading this book, we experience full range of feelings from despair to tears of joy. This is an amazing story about kindness. Here, human kindness shown through love for animals. Kind heart of the girls solved destiny of homeless cats and her unhappy kittens. This is a great lesson for our kids: no one can be a kind person who is cruel to animals. Stunning illustrations heighten the sense of the reality of the events described in the book. And maybe it's real, this kind story with a happy ending? :))

You are amazing, Mrs. D ! Love and Hugs !!

5.0 out of 5 stars
Loved it!
August 2, 2013
By Maranda Russell
Amazon Verified Purchase
This review is from: The City Kittens and the Old House Cat (Hardcover)

I'm a sucker for anything to do with cats, so naturally, this book appealed to me from the start. However, I didn't expect the story to be as sweet and touching as it was. The storyline made me think about my own rescued kitties and how a little kindness can mean the difference between life and death to innocent little critters everywhere. I was also highly impressed with the illustrations. I thought they were beautiful and that the overall design of the book was very well done. This is the second book I have read by this author and I definitely look forward to more!

5.0 out of 5 stars
A CAT'S CHRISTMAS TALE
July 17, 2013
By Barbara Mojica
This review is from: The City Kittens and the Old House Cat (Hardcover)

Okay, so it's only July....why are we talking about Christmas? Well, this charming children's book was just released about a somewhat cantankerous old cat who is forced to celebrate Christmas with a relative's city kittens.

This is a new book written by Mrs.D. She has previously released, Carlo the Mouse on Vacation and The Trees Have Hearts. In this charming book, the old house cat named Nyda feels out of her comfort zone because this year some new intruders have appeared to celebrate Christmas with the family.

Nyda is accustomed to the hustle and bustle that the Christmas season brings along with the sometimes annoying visitors who come to disrupt her peaceful lifestyle. Normally she can retreat to her secret lookout spots and watch from afar. She eagerly gazes at the sparkling tree and nostalgically remembers the ornament given her the first Christmas that Nyda spent with Mrs. D. Nyda loves the holiday goodies that she bribes Grandma to feed her. Unfortunately, this year when the oldest daughter came home to visit, she brought with her a box with two kittens. These two rambunctious kittens are annoying Nyda. When the kitten named Jack goes after her food, she reaches her wit's end! Then we are introduced to the story of how these two little kittens came to be adopted . Now Nyda feels ashamed and contrite. What was it that changed her mind about them and why?

The tale is one of a close and loving family sharing holiday traditions and memories as well as a first person narration by a beautiful cat who thinks and acts like she is human. The reader is given a glimpse into the life of a beautiful family with a big heart. This story is written with compassion and warmth. The illustrations are dramatic and vivid. Some of them look more like portraits. These complement the book's story line well even though my personal preference is for softer images. This book is a nice addition to a family holiday reading library for both adults and children. It is available in hardcover, paperback and e book additions.

5.0 out of 5 stars
Kitty Muse Book Reviews
July 16, 2013
By Ree "Kitty Muse Book Reviews" (Oregon)
This review is from: The City Kittens and the Old House Cat (Hardcover)

It's Christmas, and one of the most fun, but most difficult, holidays for Nyda, an old cat who is very set in her ways. She loves to see friends and family visit, and especially loves the special treats she gets. The cold days outside make her grateful for the warm, cozy house she lives in.

The difficulty is the arrival of two kittens, pets of one of the daughters. True, they visit from the city often, but Nyda feels that Christmas should be a time when she gets all of the attention. The kittens are too rambunctious, too pettable, too cute for her tastes. She thinks that they are spoiled, privileged little kits who should know better than to harass an older, more respectable cat.

Until she happens to overhear the tale of the kittens' origins. Found in a garbage pile behind a store, they were part of a starving litter. Their mother was too weak and sick to take good care of them. The good-hearted daughter takes them to the vet, finds homes for all of them, and ends up keeping these two little ones.

From then on, Nyda's opinion of the little ones changes for the better, as she realizes that these wee mites have had a much harder life than she ever will--and that all of them were very lucky to have become a part of such a loving family.

Once again, I have to praise Mrs. D's books to the skies. Such a lovely tale--and it's obvious that it takes place in her own home at some time in the past. The pictures are lovely, and so true to life. I have had cats since I can remember, and the faces the artist produced are priceless--they really fit the animals' emotions. Little ones will love the color and friendly pictures. Truly a work of art, in words and drawings. This is one I will give my great-nephew for his birthday.

5.0 out of 5 stars
The City Kittens and the Old Cat
July 14, 2013
By Murielle Cyr
This review is from: The City Kittens and the Old House Cat (Kindle Edition)

Mrs. D once again brings us on a delightful journey with her fabulous picture book, The City Kittens and the Old House Cat. The perfect story to read at Christmas time when we prepare to celebrate our blessings and to be thankful for the love of our family. It is the story of Nydia, an old established cat, who has no patience for the two frisky kittens, calling them pampered city cats. Her opinion of them soon changes when she hears of the bleak conditions the kittens were found in.

The illustrations are splendid and would bring a smile to any young reader. This book goes beyond the cute story about a grumpy cat at Christmas time. There is a message of tolerance for young and old, and the reminder not to judge others.

5.0 out of 5 stars
Wonderful story showing the true meaning of Christmas
July 8, 2013
By Kirstin L. Pulioff
This review is from: The City Kittens and the Old House Cat (Hardcover)

What a wonderful little story. A cute Christmas story told from the perspective of a cat, Nyda. When two new kittens come to celebrate the holidays, Nyda gets a little more than she imagined. This is a wonderful story about love, compassion, and celebrating the joy of Christmas.

The illustrations are wonderful, and help bring the story to life. It is a happy story that illustrates how similar we are all, even our pets, and how wonderful it is to love, and to help.

A great story with a positive message, a perfect addition to the holiday library, and holiday traditions. Perfect for the family and all animal lovers.